White Embossing Powder

I’ve always heard the raves about Hero Arts white embossing powder but never had the chance to get my hands on them. They’re always sold out everywhere!! Urgh! So about a year ago when I wanted to try embossing, I purchased the Zing white embossing powder from my LSS.

I was kind of disappointed at the results because it was nowhere near to the effects I’ve seen on other cardmakers’ cards. Their embossing was close to flawless but I never could achieve that. At first I thought it was the ink pad that I used. I bought the Tsukineko Essential Glue Pad, then I realized there must be a reason why those famous cardmakers are not using this!! #quiteslow

So I found out the best glue pad is Versamark! I purchased it and yes, it was much better however still not quite what I was looking for. My second guess is the embossing powder, even though I’ve seen others using Zing to create nice embossing effect. So while waiting for Hero Arts to restock theirs, I was impatient and went ahead with Simon Says white embossing powder. AND I SHOULD HAVE DONE THAT EARLIER!

They produce fine and detailed images! 😀

P1120345

Left: Zing, Right: Simon

I stamped 4 types of images for comparison and it is clear (pun intended) that Simon wins hands down! Such crisp images and the powder melts smoothly. I love it! The only downside is that it seems to thicken the lines. See the words ‘I Love You’ and ‘Surprise’ – it is quite evident. But it’s a small price to pay for the sharp images so I’m loving it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

