Embarking On A New Journey

If you’ve been following my blog for some time, you might have guessed that I’m involved in Singapore Scouts Association for about 1.5 years now.

A little background about my love for Scouting/ Guiding/ and the great outdoors. I was a really shy and reserved girl and would never joined Girl Guides because that meant going camping, getting dirty, playing games with other girls I didn’t know, but my mum encouraged me to. When I was 13, our school made it mandatory that everyone must have a Co-Curricular Activity (CCA). We had to submit our 3 choices and the school will allocate a CCA to every student. I wrote Library as my first choice, Computer Club as my second, and (to appease my mum) Girl Guides as my last choice! I said a little prayer every day that I will never get Girl Guides. But it seemed as though God was on mummy’s side! Haha.

However, after warming up to the girls at the company, I felt it wasn’t such a bad choice after all. It helped me boost my confidence in an environment outside the classroom. I began to learn to speak in front of large crowd, volunteered in tasks which I would like to try, get wild and dirty and pay others no mind while I had fun. Indeed, it was the best 4 years of my life! šŸ™‚

After I graduated from Secondary School, I became very attached to the Guides company and often went back to help. But there were lots of issues shortly after that prevented me from going back. I grew distant from the company. I almost joined the Singapore Polytechnic Rovers but was afraid I couldn’t cope with my studies since I was also part of the Singapore Polytechnic Students’ Sports Club. I thought that this was the end of my guiding journey.

Then come 2012 when Dennis came back from USA and briefly mentioned that the Aspire team could use some help. Since I love camping so much, I thought, why not? So I got introduced to the team as a Secretary/ Administrator. I think I’m a bit OCD so I love sorting papers, managing the funds (tracking every expense), getting food and drinks for the team, and basically helped out in every way possible.

The guiding spirit in me never died. I always get excited when I see a campfire, or cooking in the ground, or building a tall structure from spars, or a contingent marching pass. It’s amazing! But my skills have become rusty after years of non-involvement in the scene. So I’m super happy to know that I can attend the Wood Badge Course!!

I’m starting my Scouting journey! šŸ™‚

Bought my uniform last weekend and went home to find my Guides and Young Adult uniform.

01uniform

I almost teared staring at my uniform, reminiscing the good old days which I cannot relive anymore. Thinking about all the bonds I shared with my girls and teachers. All the pride and joy every time we don our full uniform and black marching boots, and the whistle bundle jingling in our pockets. Le sigh.

I also had to sew some badges and the unit badge was a tough one! I had to redo it 4 times before I got it perfect. Did I already mention that I was a little OCD? šŸ˜›


01sewing

The Wood Badge Course will be stretched across 5 Saturdays and a 3D2N camp, so that means less time for crafting! It’s okay though, I shall make do with what I have. Hopefully this course will make me a better person, and a better leader. Be Prepared! šŸ™‚

P/s. Ladies, if you’re looking for court shoes for your uniform, do check out Covet. I tried hunting for it everywhere, including Bata, Charles & Keith, Plain Jane, Crocs, Rubi, M)phosis, to no avail. I finally found the perfect pair at Covet Causeway Point. I think they have an outlet at Far East Plaza as well! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

