10 Tips for SAHM

Came across this article which I think might be a little too premature for me but early preparation is always good, no? Hehe. 🙂

It’s a survival guide for a SAHM (stay at home mum).

Yes, you read right, a SAHM! I wanna be a SAHM and I’ve had that thought since I was young. I remembered when I was in primary school, my friends had mummies to wait for them at the school gate while I had to walk to the childcare center next to my school for ‘afternoon programme’ because no one was at home to look after me.

I was green with envy and used to ask my mum “can you please quit working?” To which she replied “if I don’t work then we wouldn’t have enough money to spend.”

She promised she would quit  her job when I finished my PSLE (i.e. when I was 12) but that didn’t happen.

Unfortunately, cancer befell her when I was 14 and she passed away shortly after my 18th birthday.

I felt that I didn’t spend enough quality time with her when I was young. When I was a toddler, I was taken care of by my nanny and only went home on weekends. I really wished that I could have spent more time with my mum, especially my pre-teen years (when I still craved for mummy’s attention).

Hence, I told myself that I would want to spend all, if not most, of my time with my children from the time they are born till probably they are 12. That’s when I assume they wanna hang out with their friends and wish I wouldn’t poke my nose into their lives. Haha. We shall see!

Anyhow, here’s the link to the article I was talking about earlier! 🙂

Leave a Reply

