We’re Going to the Zoo

I’m finally here to blog about our trip to the zoo! 🙂

The title of this post reminds me of this childhood song:

“We’re going to the zoo, zoo, zoo,
How about you, you, you?
You can come too, too, too,
We’re going to the zoo, zoo, zoo!”

They used to play this song on kids channel and my generation grew up listening to it. What great memories!

On my actual birthday, we planned to go to the zoo! Tip: all Singaporeans and PR enjoy free admission to the Singapore Zoo, Jurong Bird Park, Night Safari, and River Safari! Isn’t it cool? Plus, I got 10% off all food and beverages and a complimentary scoop of ice-cream. It was such an awesome deal! 😀

We had breakfast before heading to Mandai, so we arrived shortly after noon. Look at the crowd!

zoo1

That’s me with the jeep, showing off my birthday badge!

zoo2

We saw so many animals but I really love this picture of the rhino. His mouth looks humongous with those kissable wet lips. Hehe so cute!

zoo3

The cheetah is one of my favourite animals because they look so svelte and sexy when they walk! It’s as if they don’t have a single gram of fat in their body, just lean muscles. *envy*

zoo4

Giraffe would be my second favourite animal after the cheetah because they look so tall and beautiful. They look so harmless that you would want to pet them if you can ever reach that height!

zoo5

This is so fascinating! We caught 2 mouse deers mating and they were really engrossed. We didn’t dare to talk too loud in case we startle them.

zoo6

Little boy trying to get the butterflies on his finger. I wouldn’t want to do the same but I find inquisitive children extra adorable. 🙂

zoo7

I was taken aback that they let lemurs roam freely in a public area. They were so active and would go super close to you. I was too afraid to stay longer. But I’m glad the Singapore Zoo allows such intimate experiences with the animals instead of watching them afar in their enclosures. Note to self: be more daring next time!

zoo8

Saw the pygmy hippos and they’re so cute. They look so lazy just swimming in the water. And the youngest pygmy (Naema) turned 1 year old on my birthday – 17th Dec!

zoo9

zoo10

We headed over to River Safari after late lunch. It was a disappointment because the river cruise was fully booked when we arrived at the ticketing counter earlier that day. So we couldn’t see half of the animals at River Safari. Overall River Safari was kinda boring because there wasn’t much to see. The sea creatures at the S.E.A. Aquarium were more interesting!

The best part of River Safari was meeting Kai Kai & Jia Jia – the 2 pandas! This is Kai Kai. Jia Jia is more reserved and was hiding in her “room” so we could only see her from the CCTV.

zoo11

Lastly, a picture of us on the tram ride. 

zoo12

Thank you baby for planning such a wild birthday for me! I had lots of fun!

Now I can’t wait to get the photos printed and scrapped! 🙂

Leave a Reply

